Notifications
Clear all

My 240v 5500w Single Element K Rims Panel Build

10 Posts
3 Users
3 Likes
(@genuine)
Topic starter  

First off, Big Thanks for putting this website together.  I can't tell you the number of hours (countless hours) I've spent researching and planning I've spent and how useful it has been.  Even got a copy of your Guide.   I'm building a 2 Vessel K Rims Panel and wanted to simplify a panel I built with a buddy a couple years ago for his system that we both use to brew.  Since then, I've purchased my own house and wanted to be able to brew whenever.  I was getting tired of propane and finally took the plunge into electric. 

This is the system I've been brewing on with a buddy:

I was so pleased with the performance of it that I planned to build one for myself! Plus, the ability to crank out a batch in 4 hours was very alluring! I’ve been brewing for about 6 years now using a Mini E Herms system to keep consistent mash temps, along with a bayou classic banjo burner for heating sparge water and boil.

I did about 3 batches at my new place with This set up and was reminded of the time it took to heat up water, get to a boil, and always needing propane. I finally took the plunge and ordered the components to build my panel. I have a 240v 30a outlet downstairs by my dryer at my disposal and it’ll be where I can brew regardless of the weather.

So, taking some inspiration from Kal’s set up, and skrilnetz.net panel build and Joe Aka Terpsichoreankid on Youtube, I knew I wanted to build a simple single PID, one element and one pump panel. I’ll be doing full volume no sparge kettle rims brewing since the other system has been working so great and more importantly, cutting down time it takes to brew.

Here’s the day after getting some items in, and planning placement:

Next, tons of measuring and re-measuring and double triple checking, I cut the holes using a jigsaw and step bit: